
IBPS Clerk Recruitment 2026: Apply Online by August 28 | 23 August 2026
IBPS Clerk Recruitment 2026 – Quick Overview
The IBPS Clerk Recruitment 2026 notification under CRP CSA-XVI invites applications for the Customer Service Associate (CSA) post, commonly known as the IBPS Clerk, across 11 participating Public Sector Banks for vacancies for the financial year 2027-28. The recruitment is conducted by the Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS), and applications are accepted online only through the official IBPS website.
The extended online application window is open from 01 August 2026 to 28 August 2026. Candidates with graduation in any discipline, mandatory computer literacy, and the required local-language proficiency can apply, subject to the prescribed age and other eligibility conditions.

| Particulars | Details |
|---|---|
| Organization | Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS) |
| Recruitment | CRP CSA-XVI |
| Post | Customer Service Associate (CSA) |
| Common Name | IBPS Clerk |
| Vacancy Year | 2027-28 |
| Participating Banks | 11 Public Sector Banks |
| Application Mode | Online |
| Application Start Date | 01.08.2026 |
| Extended Last Date | 28.08.2026 |
| Age Limit | 20 to 28 years as on 01.08.2026 |
| Qualification | Graduation in any discipline |
| Selection | Preliminary Exam, Main Exam and Local Language Proficiency Test |
IBPS Clerk Recruitment 2026 Important Dates
The original registration deadline was 21 August 2026, but IBPS has extended the online registration and fee/intimation-charge payment window to 28 August 2026. The preliminary examination is scheduled for October 2026, while the Main Examination is scheduled for December 2026.
| Event | Date |
| Online Registration Starts | 01.08.2026 |
| Original Registration Last Date | 21.08.2026 |
| Extended Registration & Fee Payment | 01.08.2026 to 28.08.2026 |
| Edit Window | 2 days after registration closes; exact dates to be notified |
| Pre-Examination Training | September 2026 |
| Preliminary Exam Call Letter | September 2026 |
| Preliminary Examination | October 2026 |
| Preliminary Result | November 2026 |
| Main Exam Call Letter | November 2026 |
| Main Examination | December 2026 |
| Provisional Allotment | March 2027 |
IBPS Clerk Vacancy Details by State
IBPS has provided indicative and anticipated State/UT-wise vacancies in Annexure-I. The final number can change according to the actual requirements reported by participating banks, and Union Bank of India vacancies are marked as Not Reported (NR) in every State/UT.
| State/UT | Indicative Vacancies |
| Andaman & Nicobar | 18 |
| Andhra Pradesh | 186 |
| Arunachal Pradesh | 45 |
| Assam | 349 |
| Bihar | 491 |
| Chandigarh | 20 |
| Chhattisgarh | 265 |
| Dadra & Nagar Haveli | 18 |
| Daman & Diu | 7 |
| Delhi | 415 |
| Goa | 61 |
| Gujarat | 698 |
| Haryana | 196 |
| Himachal Pradesh | 97 |
| Jammu & Kashmir | 67 |
| Jharkhand | 182 |
| Karnataka | 1414 |
| Kerala | 108 |
| Ladakh | 6 |
| Lakshadweep | 11 |
| Madhya Pradesh | 570 |
| Maharashtra | 1051 |
| Manipur | 42 |
| Meghalaya | 22 |
| Mizoram | 17 |
| Nagaland | 31 |
| Odisha | 337 |
| Puducherry | 26 |
| Punjab | 481 |
| Rajasthan | 392 |
| Sikkim | 28 |
| Tamil Nadu | 675 |
| Telangana | 191 |
| Tripura | 64 |
| Uttar Pradesh | 1731 |
| Uttarakhand | 145 |
| West Bengal | 946 |

The notification does not state one all-India grand total directly. The State/UT figures in the notification add up to the widely reported 11,403 figure, but Union Bank of India vacancies are not included because they are marked NR.
Participating Banks
Candidates provisionally allotted through CRP CSA-XVI may be placed in one of 11 participating Public Sector Banks based on merit and preference.
- Bank of Baroda
- Bank of India
- Bank of Maharashtra
- Canara Bank
- Central Bank of India
- Indian Bank
- Indian Overseas Bank
- Punjab National Bank
- Punjab & Sind Bank
- UCO Bank
- Union Bank of India
IBPS Clerk Eligibility Criteria 2026
Candidates must meet the nationality, educational qualification, local-language and computer-literacy requirements specified for CRP CSA-XVI. A graduation degree in any discipline is accepted, but candidates must also satisfy the local-language and computer requirements.
| Eligibility | Requirement |
| Nationality | Indian citizen or other categories specified in the notification |
| Educational Qualification | Graduation in any discipline from a recognised university/equivalent |
| Qualification Cut-off Date | 21.08.2026 |
| Local Language | Reading, writing, speaking and understanding the specified/opted State/UT language |
| Computer Literacy | Certificate/Diploma/Degree in computer operations or Computer/IT studied in High School/College |
Ex-Servicemen who do not possess the regular civil qualification may qualify through the specified Armed Forces educational certificate route, subject to the service and certificate conditions in the notification.
IBPS Clerk Age Limit 2026
The prescribed age range is 20 to 28 years as on 01 August 2026. The notification also provides upper-age relaxation for specified reserved and special categories.
| Category | Upper Age Relaxation |
| SC/ST | 5 years |
| OBC-NCL | 3 years |
| PwBD | 10 years |
| Ex-Servicemen/Disabled Ex-Servicemen | Service period + 3 years, subject to notification conditions |
| Widows/Divorced/Women Legally Separated | Up to 35/38/40 years according to category |
For the standard age requirement, candidates must have been born not earlier than 02.08.1998 and not later than 01.08.2006.
IBPS Clerk Salary and Pay Scale
The Customer Service Associate post carries the basic pay scale specified by IBPS, with allowances and perquisites according to the rules applicable at the allotted participating bank.
| Post | Basic Pay Scale |
| Customer Service Associate | ₹24050-1340/3-28070-1650/3-33020-2000/4-41020-2340/7-57400-4400/1-61800-2680/1-64480 |
The notification does not specify one fixed take-home salary because allowances and applicable benefits vary according to the participating bank.
IBPS Clerk Application Fee 2026
The application fee/intimation charges vary according to category. The extended application window runs through 28 August 2026.
| Category | Fee |
| SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM | ₹175 |
| All Other Candidates | ₹850 |
| Application Edit Fee | ₹200 |
Online payment can be made through debit card, credit card, internet banking, IMPS, cash cards/mobile wallets or UPI. Bank transaction charges, where applicable, are payable by the candidate.
IBPS Clerk Selection Process 2026
The IBPS Clerk Recruitment 2026 selection process has two online examination stages followed by the qualifying Local Language Proficiency Test. Preliminary Exam marks are used for shortlisting, while Main Exam marks are considered for the final merit list.
Preliminary Examination Pattern
| Test | Questions | Marks | Time |
| English Language | 30 | 30 | 20 minutes |
| Numerical Ability | 35 | 35 | 20 minutes |
| Reasoning Ability | 35 | 35 | 20 minutes |
| Total | 100 | 100 | 60 minutes |
Main Examination Pattern
| Test | Questions | Marks | Time |
| General/Financial Awareness | 40 | 50 | 20 minutes |
| General English | 40 | 40 | 35 minutes |
| Reasoning Ability | 40 | 60 | 35 minutes |
| Quantitative Aptitude | 40 | 50 | 35 minutes |
| Total | 160 | 200 | 125 minutes |
A 0.25-mark penalty, equal to one-fourth of the marks assigned to the question, applies for each wrong answer in both examinations. Candidates must clear individual and overall cut-offs, while only Main Examination marks count toward the final merit list.
Local Language Proficiency Test
The Local Language Proficiency Test is particularly important because candidates apply for a specific State/UT. Applicants must be able to read, write, speak and understand the applicable local language, while candidates who studied that language up to Class 10 or above are exempt from the separate test.
How to Prepare for IBPS Clerk Recruitment 2026
Preparation should follow the actual CRP CSA-XVI structure rather than treating the recruitment as a general banking examination. For the Preliminary Exam, candidates should build speed across English Language, Numerical Ability and Reasoning because each section has its own 20-minute limit.
Main Exam preparation needs a broader approach because General/Financial Awareness carries 50 marks, Reasoning carries 60 marks, and Quantitative Aptitude carries 50 marks. Regular timed practice is especially useful because the Main Examination has 160 questions to be completed in 125 minutes.
Candidates should also prepare for the State/UT language requirement from the beginning. If the candidate did not study the applicable language up to Class 10, preparation should include reading, writing, speaking and understanding that specific language instead of focusing only on the online examinations.
The negative-marking rule makes accuracy important alongside speed. Candidates should practise deciding when to attempt a question and when to leave it unanswered because unattempted questions do not attract the one-fourth penalty.
Common Mistakes to Avoid in IBPS Clerk Application
- Selecting the wrong State/UT: The State/UT preference becomes irrevocable after submission, so candidates should verify the choice before final submission.
- Ignoring the local-language requirement: Candidates should confirm the language applicable to their selected State/UT before applying.
- Submitting incorrect personal information: Candidates should carefully check their name, email ID, mobile number, State/UT, and other details because IBPS does not allow changes to several important fields after submission.
- Uploading documents in the wrong format: Photograph, signature, thumb impression, handwritten declaration and other required documents must follow the specifications in Annexure IV.
- Waiting until the final hours: Technical problems near the closing date can create avoidable application difficulties, so completing the form earlier is safer.
Documents Required for IBPS Clerk Recruitment
Candidates should keep the required documents ready before starting the online application and retain the final submitted application and payment records. The original documents and self-attested copies are required at joining/document verification as applicable.
- Graduation mark sheets and degree certificate.
- Date-of-birth proof such as Birth Certificate or SSLC/Class X certificate.
- Valid photo identity proof.
- Local-language Class 10 or above certificate, where applicable.
- Category/EWS/PwBD/Ex-Servicemen certificates, wherever applicable.
- No Objection Certificate for candidates already working in Government/PSU service.
For the online form itself, candidates must prepare a photograph, signature, left thumb impression, handwritten declaration and the specified education/certificate documents in the required scanned format.
IBPS Clerk Recruitment 2026 – Official Links
| Resource | Official Link |
| Extended Notification PDF | Download Extended Notification PDF |
| IBPS Clerk Notification PDF | Download IBPS Clerk Notification PDF |
| Apply Online | IBPS Clerk Apply Online |
| Official IBPS Website | IBPS Official Website |
| Grievance Portal | IBPS Grievance Portal |
IBPS Clerk Recruitment 2026 FAQs
What is IBPS Clerk Recruitment 2026?
IBPS Clerk Recruitment 2026 is the CRP CSA-XVI recruitment for Customer Service Associate posts in 11 participating Public Sector Banks for the 2027-28 vacancy year.
What is the last date to apply for IBPS Clerk Recruitment 2026?
The extended online application deadline is 28 August 2026, including the extended fee/intimation-charge payment window.
What qualification is required for IBPS Clerk 2026?
Candidates need a graduation degree in any discipline from a recognised university or equivalent qualification, along with the prescribed computer-literacy and local-language requirements.
What is the age limit for IBPS Clerk Recruitment 2026?
The standard age limit is 20 to 28 years as on 01 August 2026, with applicable relaxation for specified categories.
What is the IBPS Clerk application fee?
The fee is ₹175 for SC/ST/PwBD/ESM/DESM candidates and ₹850 for other candidates.
What is the IBPS Clerk selection process?
Candidates must clear the Online Preliminary Examination and Online Main Examination, followed by the qualifying Local Language Proficiency Test where applicable.
What is the IBPS Clerk basic pay?
The Customer Service Associate basic pay scale is ₹24050-1340/3-28070-1650/3-33020-2000/4-41020-2340/7-57400-4400/1-61800-2680/1-64480, with applicable allowances and perquisites.
Which banks participate in CRP CSA-XVI?
The participating banks are Bank of Baroda, Bank of India, Bank of Maharashtra, Canara Bank, Central Bank of India, Indian Bank, Indian Overseas Bank, Punjab National Bank, Punjab & Sind Bank, UCO Bank and Union Bank of India.
Conclusion
The IBPS Clerk Recruitment 2026 offers graduates an opportunity to enter participating Public Sector Banks through the CRP CSA-XVI process. Candidates who meet the qualification, age, computer-literacy and State/UT language requirements should complete the online application carefully before the extended 28 August 2026 deadline.
Before submitting the form, candidates should verify their State/UT preference, uploaded documents, and payment details because they cannot change several important application fields after final submission.